Review: Katy Perry – Chained To The Rhythm

Katy Perry – one of the centuries most successful artists, the most followed account on Twitter. She is constantly in the eye of the media and constantly revered by her fans. Her new single, Chained To The Rhythm, dropped last Friday and I will talk about this in this post.

The song has an element of the throwback. It sounds like something from a girl group from the 80s or 90s, not the modern bass blast we get for the most part these days. Perry has a fantastic voice, but I don’t know what’s natural or artificial in it. In this, it sounds great.

The production on the track is top notch, as you should expect from such a popular artist. The sound is mastered, with the vocals matching perfectly.

My reservations about the track is that I can’t grasp the message of it. I’m sure that isn’t a problem for most people, but this is for me. It has no purpose apart from being played in clubs and DJ sets.

Also, a Marley was not needed for this song, it takes away from the atmosphere of the party that is going on.

Overall, this is a generic ‘we’re so old school’ throwback track to please teenagers. I haven’t got a major problem with it, however, it is easily forgetabble.

★★★★★

Disagree with me? Tweet me @distantpstmusic and tell me where to go. Thanks for reading and I will see you on the next one. AC

Leave a Reply

