Glastonbury 2017: My Picks

c953fullThe Glastonbury festival’s first wave of acts was announced today, and I would like to share some thoughts on it. I have never been to Glastonbury (and I didn’t get tickets this year), but it’s a cultural icon in the UK and I always watch the acts on the BBC iPlayer. In my opinion, last year was the best year in terms of acts in recent memory, as Muse, Adele and Coldplay headlined along with bands such as Tame Impala, Wolf Alice, Two Door Cinema Club. Pre-millennial acts such as James, Madness and Underworld also played, so there was something for everyone.

This year the lineup is not as suited to my tastes as last years. First of all, the headliners. I love Radiohead, but I’m not fussed about either Foo Fighters or Ed Sheeran (cue the hate), so I was hoping for more acts that I like.

The first wave did not disappoint. I will take you through my picks to see if you’re going. Feel free to ignore me religiously. I will work my way down the poster.

Firstly, I would watch indie dance heroes The XX without fail, as all three of their albums are contemporary masterpieces in my eyes. Also see The National and watch just the end of Biffy Clyro for Many Of Horror because that is an absolute banger.

Glastonbury has turned to pop more in recent years, and this year is no exception. The lineup includes acts such as Katy Perry, Lorde, Halsey and Emeli Sande. I, personally, would see all of these because they all would be mesmerising performers. No, I’m not a hipster who doesn’t like pop.

Grime has practically taken over Glastonbury this year, with Stormzy, Boy Better Know and Dizzee Rascal all set to perform. I like Stormzy out of these the best, but see Bonkers off Dizzee, because that would be fun. BBK, meh.

Barry Gibb and Kris Kristofferson are both set to play this year, along with Chic and The Jacksons. This will provide a throwback feel and please the older people, along with young people.

This is where I will list all the acts that I would prioritize for anyone to watch (the ones in bold I really mean it):

The XX

The National

Katy Perry

Royal Blood

Stormzy

Alt-J

Lorde

Run The Jewels

Father John Misty

HAIM

Dizzee Rascal

Metronomy

George Ezra

London Grammar

Ride

Kaiser Chiefs

Shaggy

British Sea Power

Temples

Kurupt FM (for a laugh!)

There you go. It’s gonna be great even if you are having a festival at home like me. Feel free to tweet me your picks @distantpstmusic.

Have a great day and I will see you on the next post if I ever get around to it.

 

Leave a Reply

